A window pane with nine different characters in each pane.


March 29 - April 06, 2021


Free episodes released daily 3/29 - 4/4; Full Songspiel 4/6 at 7PM

April 6th Event: Pay What You Can $5 - $25

Written and composed by Ellen Maddow
Directed by Paul Zimet

Efflorescence tells the story of six disparate people who have been living together for a year in an old farmhouse in the Catskills that has been transformed into a safe haven for Vulnerable Expendables. The story unfolds over seven nights that coincide with the nights on which each episode will be presented. The characters begin each night by singing together while they wash their hands outside in a tub of warm water. Each night they take a turn telling stories - stories of life-changing encounters with dogs, snakes, obscene plant life, sea nymphs, and the School of Disembodied Poetics. Linking these tales is the story of their evolving relationships - their struggle and fascination with each other and the natural world around them. The first episode begins on a night when a mysterious stranger arrives, shaking up the world they have created for themselves.
The cast of Efflorescence features Will Badgett,  Suli Holum, Jax Jackson, Violet Newman, Tina Shepard, Louise Smith and Connie Winston along with musicians Maria Kovacevic and Sam Kulik.
Efflorescence was written and composed by OBIE Award-winner Ellen Maddow (founding member of Talking Band). OBIE Award-winner Paul Zimet directs (founding member of Talking Band). Sound design is by Tyler Kieffer (Plano – Drama Desk nomination), with additional musical arrangements by Sam Kulik and Maria Kovacevic.


A new 10-15-minute audio segment will be released daily from March 29 – April 4, 2021, on this page. On April 6, 2021 at 7PM, La MaMa and Talking Band will premiere the full piece followed by a post-show conversation with the artists involved.