La MaMa 2015 Fall Gala



Cocktails at 6pm; Dinner at 7pm

GalaLa MaMa Experimental Theatre Club 
was founded in 1961 by theatre pioneer and legend Ellen Stewart, and is world renowned for producing daring work in theatre, dance, performance art, and music that defies form and transcends boundaries of language, race, gender, and culture. To date, more than 4,000 productions have showcased the work of more than 150,000 emerging and established artists from 70 countries. Each year 32,000 people of all ages and all backgrounds visit La MaMa to see live performances and exhibitions, participate in educational programs or tour the Archives. For their hard work, La MaMa has been honored with more than 30 Obie Awards and dozens of Drama Desk, Bessie and Villager Awards. The La MaMa campus of four buildings encompasses three theaters, a new downstairs community space, an art gallery, rehearsal studios, a visiting artist dormitory, commercial and not-for-profit office spaces, and an extensive archive documenting the history of Off-Off Broadway.

The Fall Gala is a wonderful opportunity to join the celebration of  La MaMa's legacy as a cultural institution whose doors have always been open to generations of artists with alternative and diverse perspectives. Warhol superstar Candy Darling, featured in the photo on the left by Amnon Ben Nomis, is one of many iconic artists to have walked through our doors. The distinctive voices of artists like her, and those featured at our gala, continue to pave the way for the next generation of inspiring creators. Gala proceeds greatly assist La MaMa in producing its 54th season of diverse and innovative work:


Monday, November 2, 2015

Cocktails at 6pm; Dinner at 7pm

For tickets, sponsorships or to purchase a table please call: 212-254-6468 (Monday-Friday, noon to 6pm)


Joy Tomchin, Activist, Academy Award Nominated Film Producer __________________


For her advocacy work on behalf of the LGBTQ and Greenwich Village communities

Donn Russell, Co-founder of The Peg Santvoord Foundation, Artist, Author


To receive a Silver Bell Award for his commitment to and support of nontraditional theatre


Roberta Uno, Director of Arts in a Changing America, Theatre Director, Writer


To receive a Silver Bell Award for her advocacy and leadership in cultural diversity and philanthropy.

Gala Chairs

Jeff Haley, Jennifer Ortega and Curtis McGraw Webster

Honorary Gala Chair and Host

Sarah Jessica Parker


Honorary Gala Chair

Scott Wittman


Directed by Scott Wittman

Featuring Performances By

Pua Ali'i 'Ilima o Nuioka (Hula Halau)


Rufus Wainwright, Justin Vivian Bond, Joey Arias, & Bridget EverettGala Performers

Tickets are available for the La MaMa Gala After-Party
gala after party

After Party Performance Line Up:

Kate Rigg & Heather Litteer


Gala Committee:

| Stephen & Kimberly Bollenbach| Donald Capoccia | 

| William M. Carey| Frank Carucci | 

| Dian & H.T. Chen| Claudia Doring-Baez|

| Olympia Dukakis| Jane Friedman|

| Tim Fulham & Lise Olney| Matthew Hall/Goldstein Hall|

| Buck Henry & Irene Ramp| John Jesurun|

| Dan Kurtz & Elizabeth Olofson| Seth & Sarah Lederman|

| Warren Leight & Karen Hauser| Patti LuPone|

| Steven B. Malkenson| Mary Parker & Damon Smith|

| Estelle Parsons| James Reynolds & Mary Fulham|

| Peggy Shaw| Marc Shaiman|

| Sonya H. Soutus| Peter & Brenda Swords|

| Patsy Tarr| Lois Weaver| Paul Zimet & Ellen Maddow|


Beverage Sponsors:


fall gala sponsors


Coca Cola Gala

For information on sponsorship opportunities
or other inquires email: